Looking at a new Home Server Build

Working on something, Need advice... Post that here and we can help.
User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

Right now, this is the server I have

MB - Gigabyte X58A-UD5
CPU - Intel i7-980x
RAM - 6x3GB - 24GB DDR3 @ 1600mhz
GPU - nVidia 210
Storage - 120GB SSD for OS, 240GB SSD for Virtual Machines, 2x2TB in RAID0 for Data, 2x2TB in RAID0 for backup, 2x500GB RAID1 for Misc info (using OB MB RAID controller ICH10R)
OS - Windows 7 Pro 64Bit Host - also used as an HTPC (Home Theater PC)
CASE - Fractal Define R5

Virtual Environments:
1) Windows 2012 for primary home server
2) Windows 10 Pro for my sons game server
3) Windows 7 32bit for vintage game emulation

---------------------------------------------------------------

The current system isn't too stressed, but the storage is at it's limit, I'm having drive limitation issues, the case can hold 10 drives, I'm populating 8 slots and I need to upgrade my storage solution. I also would prefer a dual CPU system and up to 64-128GB of RAM. I don't need DDR4. But I'd like a server enclosure with redundant PSU's (one on a UPS and the other on straight power). Proper hot swap bays, ability to have an external RAID drive enclosure... Proper remote monitoring and SMTP support.

----------------------------------------------------------------

I'm currently looking at a Lenovo ThinkServer TD340, dual e5-2420-v2 (12 cores, 24 total threads) and 32GB of RAM. Megaraid 9260/61-8i.

Storage I'm looking at Seagate Iron Wolf 4x4TB NAS drives in RAID6 (staying away from WD as they have been fucking things up as of late)

I've looked at just adding the RAID controller to the existing system, but then I still don't have the external bays, redundant PSU's and SMTP... I've looked at getting a Dual slotted MB and adding my bits, but again still don't have the redundant PSU's... and that was $500 more that the thinkserver...

what are you guys running?

Vin

User avatar
element6
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by element6 »

My home is in desperate need of a home server but my last endeavor was a failure. I learned some things so not a complete failure? I am on a slow path to a new server and want to do it right. Currently I am in the infrastructure stage and installing CAT6A for 10gigagyte speed. Next decision is the computer hardware and then finally the OS. I really don’t want to use Linux since I struggled so hard last time.

My current situation is 8T of direct attached storage and it is getting full. I have about 6 months left until my hand is forced.

I will watch your build with great interest.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

for the OS, i'm a keep it simple guy... it'll just be Win10 Pro and then I virtualize the remainder. Then I set the virtual machines to start on windows boot. I have a VMWare Workstation v10 license (2015 version era). With it you can run multiple environments at the same time. If you want to keep the cost low you can use VMWare Player, it is free and allows you to run one VM on a host.

VMWare has really made it stupid simple and if you want Hardware Acceleration in the latest v16.

Here's a link for player: https://www.vmware.com/ca/products/work ... layer.html

Vin

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

I might have to rethink Windows 10 with the LSI 9261-8i Raid controller.. it seems windows wince 20H1 the drivers have not been working. and looking at Broadcoms website official support ended with Win10 SR2 which was ages ago.

I use Win Server 2012 for my home server but don't think I'd want to have it as a host just to affirm driver compatibility...

The server does have Win7 support so I might stick with that...

I'm quite familiar with Windows 8.1 as I used it on my work laptop and my Surface Pro 2 for 6+ years...

I'm going to order a card and setup a test system to see for myself.

Vin

User avatar
element6
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by element6 »

II have an Adaptec ASR-31605 I doubt I will ever use again. If this is something you are interested in, I could give it to you.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

appreciate the offer, but I'm good. I ordered an LSI 9260CV-8i, the CV stands for CacheVault Flash Cache Protection. So I don't need a battery. it's got a capacitor bank for hold a charge to the next boot to write to the disks...

I'm also kicking myself for no pulling the trigger on the server I was looking at. it had two CPU's (6 cores) and 32BG of ram, 8x Hot-Swap bays and dual PSU's for $250 with $75 shipping... now I can't find anything near that for under $750... I'm actually looking to buy 2 servers for $470+$150 shipping just to come close... I hate that I over think shit and miss opportunities like this...

I'll get it figured out, it'll just cost more than I was hoping.

Vin

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

Alright... so I bought two Thinkserver TD340's total with shipping to my house is $572 CAD. With these two I can build a complete system and have some spare parts...

the 1st one is $225 CAD

1x Xeon E5-2407v2 2.4GHz
24GB 4GBx6,
3x 3.5" Trays
just have 1x 4 drive HS Cage
1 800w HS PSU
(in photo had the TPM Key - $35-50 on Ebay)

the 2nd one $212.50 CAD

2x Xeon E5-2420v2 2.2GHz
16GB 2x8GB,
2x 3.5" Trays
2x 4 Drive HS Cages
1x 800w HS PSU
(in photo had the Remote Management Key - $100-125 on Ebay)
- but is missing the side panel

I got a 10% off discount code and shipping for both servers was $113CAD, Tax was $68CAD


I ordered another Xeon E5-2420v2 for $20CAD with shipping.

-------------------------------------------------

So after shopping, I found
- HS PSU was between $100-$125
- Remote Key was $100
- 24GB of RAM was $100
- Stock CPU Cooler was $45-65
- Replacement 4x3.5" HS Cage was $350
- TPM Key was $50


so with all that together was more than the 2nd server with all of it's bits...

-------------------------------------------------

I'm hoping I can spread the 6x4GB top both CPU's then use the two 8GB sticks to populate the 4th slots and I'll have 40GB of RAM...

the Servers should be here in a week, the RAID card and second CPU should arrive shortly after new years.

I'm going to be doing some windows 10 testing on the one server with SSD's that I have to see if the issues are accurate, I'm also going to do some testing with Hyper-V in windows 10. apparently you can run them as a service and there is a small limit of 1024 Hyper-V Virtual environments... so the 3 I need will be fine...

that's the one issue with VMWare Workstation that I use, I have to login and start the VM's, then once the they are up, we're good... I'd prefer they just run on start.

Vin

Vin

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

Servers shipped, ETA is Monday.

Vin

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by Vinster »

Here are some pics... so one server had the chassis I wanted with the 2x Hot-Swap cages and 2 drive caddys.

It also sported an Xeon E5-2420 v2 and 16GB (2x8GB) of RAM and 1 Hot-Swap 800w Redundant PSU. This TD340 had a few other option parts and that is the TPM module ($35 on ebay) and the advanced remote monitoring unit ($125 on ebay).

The second chassis only had one Hot-Swap cage, but I wasn't buying it for that, but grabbed with for the CPU Heat Sink, 24GB (6x4GB) of RAM, Second Hot-Swap 800W PSU, 3 Drive Caddy's that also had 2.5" to 3.5" adapters (happy surprise), it also had the MB OB RAID 5 upgrade key (another happy surprise at a $125 option from ebay).

Tested both Systems and they worked fine.

So I moved over some parts to the Dual Cage Chassis after cleaning up all the dust. So one system is running Windows 10 Pro on a PNY 120GB SATTAIII SSD. It was running perfect until the last round of windows updates. Now it hangs on a re-boot, but it fine on a cold start. So I'll have to figure out what service is causing the issue.

I've also enabled Hyper-V in win10 and I have a Windows Server 2012 r2 DataServer running.. I've temporarily setup a RAID5 with 4x4TB Seagate Ironwolf drives and a single 8TB Backup drive. Testing data transfers and backups. looks like pushing a physical disk to a Hyper-V works, it causes issues with checkpoints and also needing to change configurations so I'm currently in the process of setting up Virtual Disks. Which I'm OK with as then the Host has access to the RAW disks and I can put host data on them.

I'm still waiting on 2 parts, the second E5-2420 v2 CPU and the LSI 9260CV-8i RAID controller for the RAID6 config that I originally planned.

on with the pics
20211220_154030 (Large).jpg
20211220_154024 (Large).jpg
20211220_154053 (Large).jpg
20211220_154058 (Large).jpg
20211221_163521 (Large).jpg
20211221_160549 (Large).jpg
20211221_182632 (Large).jpg

Once the 2nd CPU is here I'll pop it in as well as the LSI card....


Now I'm on the fence with the memory... I was thinking I'd use the 6x4GB and split it and have 24GB of ram and maybe stack the 2x8GB for a total of 40GB or RAM, but my current server has 24GB and I don't think the mismatched memory will work... I'm thinking of getting 6x16GB sticks... looks like it isn't too costly of a change. I have 4 OS's that will be running on this and they will need 8-16GB of memory each and then leave 8GB for the host. So I need at least 54GB of memory...

I'm also thinking I need another Network card in there so that each OS can have it's own dedicated network interface. I don't want them sharing the interfaces as I want each of them to be independent and I don't want the possibility that one can cause an issue to the other.

So I may end up spending another $250-350 on this system....

I think I'd be able to sell the spare chassis with the e5-2405 v2 and 16GB of memory and recoup some of that cost.

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
element6
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: Looking at a new Home Server Build

Unread post by element6 »

Nice progress on this. I am anxious to see the software setup.