WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Working on something, Need advice... Post that here and we can help.
User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

I've started the plumbing on what I could. I did 1 90 degree bend and then I was able to make the two following runs...
20201107_172106 (Large).jpg
20201107_172101 (Large).jpg
20201107_172039 (Large).jpg


I've ordered this following tool https://www.primochill.com/products/pri ... 4750117954 as the de-burr tool is shit on PETG and I've seen a number of builders use this and was really handy. I'm looking forward to the simplified method of removing a few mm at a time to get the lengths just right.

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

Gotta love Asus Flashback....
20201109_200504 (Large).jpg
20201109_201429 (Large).jpg

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

We got Post.... I jugged up a Hyper 212 that I had. Other than my new WC block I don't have an AM4 cooler.. and wow this thing is toasty.. in the bios I averaged 45 degrees.

But I was easily able to select my Ram settings in DOCP and boot and it fired right in the Bios. I know it doesn't mean much right now, but at least it made it in there


20201109_211806 (Large).jpg

I didn't want to leave the cooler on too long, I didn't have a backplate on there.. but this got the job done.. :)


20201109_211836 (Large).jpg
20201109_212356 (Large).jpg
20201109_212406 (Large).jpg
20201109_212412 (Large).jpg
20201109_212426 (Large).jpg

I've also decided that I won't be going for the 3090. The 3090 is over double the price of a 3080 but not double the performance. So if I put aside $1500 I can get a new GPU in 2-3 years and make out better than getting the 3090 and waiting 5 years to upgrade.

So now I know what GPU I'm getting. Now I just need to find one that I can get a mating GPU WB for it.

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

She's in the case... Once I get my Hard Tubing Bit and the loop pressure tester I'll work on completing the tubing.

I'm also really happy about how the Water Temp probe ended up on the CPU WB. Figure it's the best spot for it. If the pump dies that T-Sensor will tell me the CPU temps from the water heating up. I'm also going to get a flow meter as this MB has a 3pin plug dedicated for flow...

20201109_220727 (Large).jpg
20201109_220745 (Large).jpg


Maybe by this weekend if I get my bits on time... I'll have water flowing.

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Komadyret
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:51 am

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Komadyret »

Sweeeet!
Now I'm getting exited! :lol:
This is coming together excelent.

As for the BIOS, did you try to fire up without updating the BIOS through Flashback? Did the stock BIOS recognize and boot the Zen3?
We have a small issue at our side, as the chosen motherboard do not sport the Flashback utility.
We've taken precautions and ordered a cheap AM4 Athlon for booting and updating BIOS, but if we can avoid to use it that would be great. Store have 30 days free return even for opened and tested parts, so no biggie, but would save us a CPU swap if we had an indication it would be possible to get to the BIOS flash with the Zen3 :)

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

No I didn't, I went straight to flashback.

Talk to the store. The store I bought my CPU/MB from had the option to have them install the CPU and update the bios for me but I had to wait 1 hour after buying the board. Knowing it had flashback I just took it home.

If all the stars align (no I just jinxed myself) the tubing will be done this weekend and I'll be able to fire up the system.

Now I've read that people have somehow updated the CPU microcode on a gigabyte and an asrock x370 board and have the 5xxx CPU's working on them... I don't know what and how they did that.. but apparently it can be done..

Vin

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

Got a bit bored last night and completed the tube runs. All of these are 1st passes on bends and as first passes I am very happy with it especially as I've never done this before.. I will be giving the two runs in/out of the CPU block another pass for sure. the run from the side rad to the bottom rad with the two offsets, I want to tweak that tubing a bit.

The white cardboard that you see on the 1080Ti is to roughly size out the FE3090 which is the largest GPU available and I wanted to see the worst case scenario.

on with the pics...

20201112_001855 (Large).jpg
20201112_001933 (Large).jpg
20201112_002008 (Large).jpg
20201112_002018 (Large).jpg
20201112_002146 (Large).jpg
20201112_002532 (Large).jpg
20201112_002538 (Large).jpg

Overall I'm pretty happy with this outcome. I have 3m left of tubing so I will be giving a few of these another try.

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: WIfeWillCutmyNutzOff the Third

Unread post by Vinster »

I decided that I'm going to wait to re-do those few tubes until I have my GPU and GPU block. No point in wasting tubing. So tonight I filled and flushed the loop a few times. I was surprised of the particles in the water after I I had gone through near 4 liters of distilled water. It looks like my loop takes near 1.3liters of water with my res.

Tomorrow I'm going to grab a few SSD's make up a raid and load up an OS and start with some testing. I'm still waiting for the Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus to be released. Heard it could possibly be before xmas.

So here is a pic with water... There was not one leak.. I was amazed. I really didn't expect that especially being my 1st kick at hard tubing.

20201112_224818 (Large).jpg

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.