Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

User avatar
element6
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm

Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by element6 »

Background: With COVID, visits to friends house are limited to the front steps or an open garage. During the latter, I was talking to a friend about my hobby to play with "deep learning" models. I told him my little Haswell CPU takes ages to learn a model. He walks over to a storage box in the garage and gives me an Nvidia Quadro k6000. "Its an old card, but you might get a boost".

Installation: The install is pretty straightforward obviously, with the exception of the power [described below].

Problem: During my move, most (if not all) of my extra computing gear was tossed out - including the modular PSU cables. I need to identify how to power this card.

Status: I've tried several combinations of cables with no success. Pictures of the cables and PSU below.

quadro_front.jpg
GPU_top.jpg
GPU_plug.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by element6 on Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
element6
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by element6 »

PSU: Seasonic X-series, 750W (modular).

What Ive tried:
  • The black 8-PIN plug is a "VGA" and DOES NOT connect to the PSU. There is a small narrow plastic bridge between two of the pins.
  • The Blue 8-PIN connects to the PSU but does not power up the GPU. When pressing the power button of the computer, the PUS does not power on.
Im not sure what to do next.


PSU.jpg
VGA_plug.jpg
PLUG_blue.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by Vinster »

GPU's have either a 6 pin power connector, a 6+2 pin or an 8 pin

GPU power.JPG


You should be using this connector. that large plug should give you a 2x 6+2pin connector and then you would just use the 6pin part leaving the 2 pins not connected.

or get something like this: https://www.amazon.ca/Xertas-Molex-Expr ... L8T2&psc=1

Vin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
element6
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by element6 »

Thanks Vin. A week ago, I ordered that exact plug. Or so I thought. It turns out there is a "Mini 6-Pin" version. When I opened the package, I had a flashback to "Spinal Tap" movie with the mini-Stonehenge. I mistakenly bought the "mini"

I just ordered a "Standard" 6-pin. I will let you know how it goes.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by Vinster »

Awesome.

Vin

User avatar
element6
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:15 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by element6 »

That cable adaptor worked! I am upand running :D

gpu.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Vinster
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Nvidia Quadro K6000 install

Unread post by Vinster »

Sweet, so now that you have it going, which model are you going to start with?

Vin